F*** Me, I’m Famous… Not!

Twitter never ceases to amaze me. When I opened my account in 2009, I had no idea whatsoever how it worked. Back then, I even had my account private, which doesn’t make much sense on that online platform, though it’s a respectable (and safe) choice that some friends of mine have gone for. Then, by sheer chance, after following Gotye‘s account and tweeting to him, not about him (hey, ait took me time to learn the difference, but I finally did. Yay!), I met a group of gals with whom I started a fan account and what not on him during the first half of 2012 and so I enrolled in an impromptu crash course on how to tweet… in English. Easy not! Actually, at the beginning, the other admins would help me proofreading my tweets before posting them. Thanks again!

One fine day, something happened that really worried me: an unexpected follow. On August 30 2012, Gotye’s management (@GotyeHQ) started following me.

Hmm... Good to know that Outlook messes up with images when e-mails connected with Twitter are oldish...
Hmm… Good to know that Outlook messes up with images when e-mails connected with Twitter are oldish…

I was like WTH! I was really surprised because I had only exchanged a couple of e-mails with them (I didn’t even know who they were) in January and in March, the last of which being a concert review (Gotye at Terminal 5) with both positive and negative insights, which I didn’t expect that Wally, aka Gotye, would read (I sent it to HQ!), though he did. Anyway, one month after their follow, I sent a DM to GotyeHQ expressing my surprise and asking if I was being followed for being considered a ‘dangerous individual’, hoping that wasn’t the actual reason, of course. I had no clue whatsoever why that had happened, as I would hardly ever tweet about Gotye from my personal account or send any other e-mail. Actually, I have hardly ever done so during these years. The most “relevant” (to call them some way) tweets from my personal account were to say I was going to three concerts, to give the heads up on a wrong link in a tweet from HQ and to explain I was ‘teaching’ about Gotye in one of my courses (I might upload the teaching plan here one of these days; it’s worked for my Audiovisual Communication students and me for three years in a row). I actually wrote the latter in October 2012, that is, after August 2012, not before. Intriguing follow indeed. The thing is their answer to my DM played with my words (‘dangerous individual’), and certainly denied I was being followed for being one (sigh of relief!). Instead, they said ‘you’re a superstar’ (some people are really nice and fun[ny] online) because I was going to three Gotye concerts in a row, to take the chance to meet the people I had been chatting with online all the way during those months. Mind it certainly wasn’t the first time that I was travelling abroad to see an artist live (add to those Gotye concert those of Tina Turner, Take That, Duran Duran, Snow Patrol, Xavier Naidoo, and a few more to come later on) but it was indeed the first time I was doing it to meet ‘real people’ who happened to be going to a concert of an artist I liked, on a day I could make it.

Yesterday, after taking care of some work duties (translating/reviewing a 33-page psychology academic article where the word ‘pares‘ -both ‘fathers’ and ‘parents’ in Catalan – appears 84 times is no easy deal), I finally found the time to give the last touches to my Blaumut concert review. Again, with both positive and negative insights. And, history repeating, I started being followed by their management (TEMProductions), someone connected with the management (Malou) and the lead singer, Xavi de la Iglesia. All three in a row and having had no contact whatsoever with them before.

Blaumut Twitter follow

After having been three years active on Twitter, my perspective about all this -and this event in particular – has changed and so, I’m now not worried about these follows. Certainly, I don’t think they are more than just a way to say ‘thanks for your support’. Therefore, I guess it’s my turn now to say thank you, TEMproductions, Xavi de la Iglesia and Malou, and alluding to David Guetta‘s series of electronic dance music albums, and in the humblest of ways, I can exclaim ‘F*** Me, I’m Famous… Not!’

