The Lazy Lies & Indigos Receive Mª Mar’s Treatment

After having meant to write about The Lazy Lies, an emerging band, for months yet not having got around to it, at long last I found the time to (or rather, I had no other option but) write about them. The occasion? Their gig together with Indigos at the BeGood in Barcelona for which I wrote the announcement and, after attending it, the concert review. Attending The Lazy Lies’ gig made it possible for me to grasp the essence of this band better. Likewise, it made it easier for me to proofread and add the last touches to their debut album review, which you can also find here.

Indigos-Lazy
Montse Bernad from The Lazy Lies and Joss Santos from Indigos. Promotional picture (source).

Last Saturday’s was an intimate gig that I enjoyed a lot. The Lazy Lies sounded and looked so sweet up there on the stage! I could also confirm that Indigos were born in the wrong country, so to speak. To my knowledge, the style of these two bands is nothing like whatever music is being made in Spain at the moment, not to mention their exquisite English pronunciation, which was music to my ears as a teacher of English.

But that wasn’t all: that night I also had the chance to meet two people with whom I’d been interacting online in some way or another. First, Iván Gil, the photographer who took the pics for the review, and then, Malou Bustos, a multifaceted professional, former Ol’Green singer, translator and now artistic producer and social media and tour manager, that I started interacting with by chance on Twitter like more than one year ago to realize we were attending the same events once they were over. And… guess what! Montse Bernad, the The Lazy Lies’ lead singer, came to me when I was about to leave because she recognized me from the time when we studied together at the Conservatori Professional de Música de Badalona as kids! I just can’t get how come I couldn’t recognize her from the promotional pics or while she was performing!

Perhaps this gig wasn’t sold out, but to me, it was a great night after all. And, yep, certainly, it’s a small world.

*I would like to take the chance to thank both Roger Gascon (yep, no graphic stress, I get it!) and Malou Bustos from Lula Music for their help and their prompt answers to my questions regarding the texts mentioned here.

 

Leave a Reply

