The Best Concerts 2016 Gave Me

According to my records, I’ve attended 73 concerts this year, including those in festivals. As I always say, if I ever go to a concert, it’s to be thrilled, to be moved, to feel something. Mind that I haven’t written about all of these 73 and some of them I have, but elsewhere. So… what follows is nothing but the list of those concerts that have meant something to me on that day, for whatever reason. There I go, and in chronological order…

1. Florence + The Machine – 17/4/16, Palacio Vistalegre, Madrid 

That concert meant meeting Mané López for the first time (it seems as if it had happened so long ago!)  and not having to write about it for any mag, unlike what I did for the same gig in Barcelona. Though I did write about it anyway. It was too good to let it escape. I had a  whale of a time despite the fact that the concert was pretty much the same as the one in Barcelona. Oh well…

2. Marlango – 24/4/16, Sala BARTS, Barcelona

marlango

When I grow up, I just wanna be like Leonor Watling. Period. And this.

3. The Lazy Lies & Indigos – 21/5/16, Sala BeGood, Barcelona

Indigos-Lazy

That eve was pretty emotional, as for the first time, I met Malou Bustos, former TLL manager, with whom I had been talking now and then for ages on Twitter. I also met Iván Gil, the photographer who invited me to a Coke before the gig (I still owe you!) to get to know each other and later on became my friend. Way.to.go. It all made me enjoy the concerts in a very special mood. As for the gigs, I was gladly surprised about the quality of both bands, them being rather unknown. Who would’ve thought as well that would be the starting point for so many connections. It’s a small world, indeed. And yes, I also wrote about both performances.

4. Queen + Adam Lambert – 22/5/16, Palau Sant Jordi, Barcelona

queen + adam lambert

Yeah, Adam Lambert is not Freddie Mercury. But I arrived late at the party. Better late than never, though. (more)

5. Coldplay – 26/5/16, Estadi Olímpic de Barcelona

A helluva show. Something like this.

6. Daughter- 2/6/16, Parc del Fòrum, Primavera Sound 

daughter (4)

If someone makes you cry with the beauty of their performance, what else can you ask for?

7. PJ Harvey – 4/6/16, Parc del Fòrum, Primavera Sound

PJ Harvey (47)

Having no idea what she’s in for and ending up totally mesmerized. That’s the PJ Harvey effect.

8. Mika – 11/6/16, Poble Espanyol, Barcelona 

P1100544

Nothing but fun. And joy. And friendship. And bliss. And this.

9. Ramon Mirabet & Alabama Shakes, Cruïlla, Parc del Fòrum 

CruÏlla 2016 collage

I would’ve liked to add Damien Rice too but he moved me more at PS2015. In any case, from Cruïlla 2016, the highlights were: Alabama Shakes, who were outstanding, and Ramon Mirabet, undoubtedly a promise of the present Catalan music scene.

10. Whitney – 23/10/16, Sala Apolo, Barcelona

2016-whitney

If their album is one of my faves this year, their performance did nothing but confirm that they are great.

11. Placebo – 19/11/16, Sportpaleis, Antwerp

If one of your fave bands isn’t coming to town, you gotta go after them to celebrate their 20th anniversary comme il faut.

Bring it on for more concerts, 2017!

Entrades relacionades:

Leave a Reply

