My World Upside Down

Last year I became pregnant with Albert, and so, my world turned upside down. This surprise came along with tons of workload and the imperative need of readjusting priorities. Albert was born 2 weeks sooner than expected, last January 10. Despite me having prepared the drafts for the ‘Best Music of the Year 2019’ kind of articles, I just couldn’t publish them, and so there they are still, resting in the drafts folder. I could’ve published them incomplete, as they were, but it’s not my way of doing things.

This beauty is my son at the age of 5 months and a half or so.

To be honest, while I would start writing the previous posts of this kind early in the year and would continue writing them as time went by, this year 2020 I haven’t even started doing so, which means no article like this will be published this year either. Life has changed way too much. The world has changed way too much. So much to take in. So much to figure out. So much to handle.

The pandemic crisis as well as my postpartum depression have affected me deeply, both physically and emotionally. I even stopped listening to music at some point. Going back to the gym this week (and feeling each of my muscles hurt!) seem to have contributed a great deal to recover my inspo and to be able to appreciate what music means. Love, hope, sadness, memories. Life.

While I don’t think that I will be publishing any ‘best of the year’ article this year, either, not even last years’, also due to my permanent workload (I’m striving for a job promotion which involves lots of work dedication), I have started listening to music again, but I feel I’ve missed out on way too many releases. This is probably a wrong impression, given the fact that the whole world seems to have come to a halt. Nevertheless, I wanted to pay a visit to this blog of mine and say to the world (as if anyone cared, ha!), ‘Hey, I’m alive!’.

While pregnant with Albert, I did go to some concert, though taking it super easy. Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the conception of concerts, gatherings and what not will necessarily change, at least in the short and mid-term. God knows if we’ll ever attend again massive concerts like the ones I was lucky enough to experience in the past. What is true is that this year I only attended Vetusta Morla’s at the Auditori del Fòrum and was very gutted that I couldn’t go to Cruïlla or Vida Festival, which had amazing line-ups. Maybe next year? Wishful thinking?

What I do know is that those butterflies created by music are priceless, like the ones I got yesterday at the gym while doing physical exercise. I have no option but to accept for now that I will not be able to experience that again simultaneously with hundreds or thousands of people at a big arena. A new life, a new kind of living music, the new normal. Sigh.

Leave a comment